Shop |


The Voyeur’s Gambit by Christian Michael Filardo

  • Title: The Voyeur's Gambit
  • Artist: Christian Michael Filardo
  • Additional Contributor: Angelo Harmsworth (composer)
  • Designer: Christian Michael Filardo & Angelo Harmsworth
  • Editor: Christian Michael Filardo & Angelo Harmsworth
  • Imprint: Lime Lodge
  • Printer: Lime Lodge
  • Publication date and place: August 2017 Santa Fe, NM, USA
  • Edition: 50
  • Format, binding: Ring bound
  • Size: 10x15 cm
  • Number of pages and images: 30
  • Type of printing and paper: Digital Color
  • Retail price: $ 40
Book description: The Voyeur's Gambit is a collaborative project that combines Christian Michael Filardo's photographs with music by Angelo Harmsworth. Contained in a padded black envelope closed with a brass brad, Filardo's photographs are presented as ring-bound, 4x6-inch Walgreen's prints. An engraved USB drive attached with a large keyring holds recorded music composed by Angelo Harmsworth. The Voyeur’s Gambit is a project birthed out of the idea that a sequence of photographs can exist as a loop or in a nonlinear fashion. Due to the unique, single-ring binding of this book there is no definitive beginning and end to this title. Moments are experienced in an isolated situation, one at a time; however the 4x6 prints can be removed from the binder ring and placed in any order the viewer or user desires, giving into the idea that a photograph's life can be changed by how a viewer interacts with it. Essentially, The Voyeur’s Gambit is a book made up of choices. The musical compositions that accompany the book exist within this same format. Much like in chess you can play into a gambit or you can choose not to. Not dissimilar to the photographer, the chess master moves within a time-frame and makes decisions based on a series of movements that lead them either to victory or defeat.
← Back